Progress Report #1

Long overdue – but I’ve come to realise that there’s a limited amount of things to actually write about. So forgive me if the “things” become more abstract.I began this venture as an attempt to get myself writing more and I’ll be damned before I drop out after three weeks! So before I start abstracting, I’ll start with some more things that have happened.

I’ve now completed all my fungal isolations.

That was a monumental moment for me that lacked any fanfare and kind of fizzled with the dying wheeze of a deflating balloon. I remember chipping up my last wood block and clapping my hands together and thinking “done!” before thinking about catching the bus home.

I suppose realising that it was the first of many milestones to have happened kinda dulled any celebration. I expect there to be a lot of steps to be done before I can step away from the lab for a bit. Being woefully behind on reading isn’t inspiring much confidence in me.

The next few steps involve further subculturing by placing fungi on one plate to another.

Then the massive task of identifying all the plates I have. I think i’ll let myself have a party when that finally rolls along.

In the meantime, I’m trying to submit a manuscript – but the process is just a hoop after a hoop after a hoop and I just wish they could streamline the process and make it just a little friendlier.

Also I’m going to attempt to write every week again. Just to get into a rhythm again.

Even if the posts are disjointed and short. It’ll be good to pick up the habit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

